Throwback Thursday! Friendly Encounter

So I have a set of rims for sale and this one dude hit me up. My car is down due to the fuel pump shitting on me the night before so I told him to head over to my crib to check it out. As soon as I got out front he quickly got out of his car and I find out that it was an old friend of mine, Paul Higa! Some may not be familiar with him but here is where my throwback thursday post begins.

Back in 2006-2007 I picked up my first skateboard. I found it on the side of the road and stuck with it for a very long time. So I rode it everywhere not knowing how bad the trucks and bearings were. I didn’t care much about that because it was fun just riding around with a bunch of my middle school friends. I was hooked on to pushing around. In about late 2007 a good friend of mine Gerald Salle that used to skate with me introduced me to his dad, Paul Higa. Paul was a long time skateboarder and used to skate for the very popular skateboarding shop and brand A’ala Park Boardshop. Paul just pushed my fascination for skateboarding even more when he took me and my friends to A’ala Skatepark for the very first time in late 2007. He always skated with us for a short time till we kinda grew up and started going to the parks our self.

Fast forward 6 years later, I don’t skateboard much anymore. I don’t really have much time on my hands because of work and finishing up a few projects that I have on my hands. I put my time and money towards my cars so I don’t really think twice about picking up a skateboard these days. Paul on the other hand is doing the same thing. He had several Honda’s and is currently buying my wheels for his Honda Civic EK he recently acquired. Funny thing is that a bunch of us guys that did skateboard back in the day, are now into cars.

I wish I had pictures for you guys but it would require a lot of digging. Sorry for the read  but to close out this Throwback Thursday post, here’s Paul Higa’s part in the APB video called Midnight Mariders back in 1999.

Leave a Reply

